New this, new that

No, this isn’t another post about resolutions, or about the year gone by. But I haven’t blogged in a while and owe you an update.

New address, new (old?) relationship status, new ideas, some new attitudes. I’m reminded of Jimmy Buffett’s ’70s-era song “Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes.” There is something cathartic about moving to a new house, which I did on Tuesday. I wasn’t happy in my previous residence, and finally decided to take action. There is even a room in the new place that can be used as an office/study…something I have never had. Think of it…I might be able to write in a separate room from where the kids are playing Halo or some other such thing.

The new book, “Silver Cross,” is just about finished. In fact, I am on deadline. It has to be turned in to my editor and put into production by January 9. (My editor, the brilliant, insightful and very understanding Kristin Sevick, gave me an extra week to get the latest round of revisions completed, in light of all that has happened in my life lately.) I have one last concept to address in the revisions…a concept that raises the stakes for Nick Journey and Meg Tolman…and the United States. I’m excited about the places Journey and Tolman are about to go, and I hope you will be as well.

In the meantime, I’ve done lots of bookstore and library events to promote “Cold Glory,” and people have been excited about it wherever I have gone. I’ve been told that the uniqueness of these two characters, coupled with the intriguing Civil War connections and unusual settings, is a real draw. I certainly hope so!

So…lots of new things. I look back at what I’ve learned from my stops so far along the road, and I have no regrets. I’ve been blessed, and all these things and experiences have prepared me for what’s next…whatever that may turn out to be.

Here’s to good books and interesting experiences going forward. Now…back to those “Silver Cross” revisions!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

